Book Review: ‘The Way of Kings’, by Brandon Sanderson

thewayofkingsWhat I decided very early on was that I’m definitely not a fan of audiobooks, though I am willing to concede that this one is done well, with a female reader for the female PoV chapters and a male reader for all the male PoV chapters. While one might think this a superficial detail, I found it made the whole experience significantly more immersive. Having said that, it took a little while to get used to, and I found it a little jarring to begin with. Once I got used to it however, I found myself enjoying it, though there were a few instances of different pronunciations between readers.

Having been introduced to Brandon Sanderson later (partly due to the end of The Wheel of Time, but also largely due to the desire to read The Stormlight Archive), I have by no means read all of his works, starting with the Mistborn Trilogy last year, before trying Elantris earlier this year. Both had a certain flavour to them, and while the subject matter was in places very dark and grim, I felt the overall tone was light and fun, and I suppose a little innocent. I think the best characterisation of how I personally feel about the books is that they came across a little more as YA (albeit incredibly dark YA) in style and tone.

By contrast, I thought that The Way of Kings seemed considerably more mature, far darker (in perhaps a less obvious way), and far more cynical. As well as this, there was a lot more of an explicitly military focus, which I always love, and the scope was, as is common in Sanderson’s work, epic beyond belief. The plot gathered momentum like a tide, and I found the final battle and its immediate aftermath so gripping I listened to almost the last hour in a single go. I particularly enjoyed the numerous teases seeded throughout for the rest of the series. There is a lot to think about, and even more to be excited about for the coming series.

‘The Way of Kings’, by Brandon Sanderson is the first in The Stormlight Archive.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: ‘The Way of Kings’, by Brandon Sanderson”

  1. Thank you for reviewing this. I have been poking at the idea of reading Way of Kings for a couple of years but havn’t had the courage to take it on. It is a really big book and honestly, the library only lets me have books for 21 days and I will need more that for this one. How did you take on the size of this book, any tips?
    I have tried some of Sanderson’s books as audio books but Michael Kramer the voice actor he uses just doesn’t work for me. It’s nice to know that at least part of the time there will be a female voice actor.

    1. I have a habit of listening to audiobooks while I’m in the gym, and with New Years I’ve been spending a fair amount of time in there so got through it pretty quickly.

      In terms of voice actors – I listened to the Mistborn trilogy as well, and get what you mean, but I thought Way of Kings (and Words of Radiance) were done much better.

Leave a Reply

