Book Review: ‘The Fell Sword’, by Miles Cameron

51gfffcmv4l-_sx330_bo1204203200_I moved almost straight onto this off the high of The Red Knight, and I’m thankful I did. I loved Cameron’s style. The technical language in particular really served to immerse me in what felt like a slightly grittier version of the classic King Arthur legends. Having studied the Byzantine Empire extensively I also massively enjoyed the exploration of Morea, particularly some of the characters. Count Zac is quite possibly one of my favourite characters in literature. He is by no means unique in terms of personality, but no other author has ever captured such a personality quite as well.

As with the first book, the action sequences were fantastic, and placed at a frequency which I massively enjoyed. Once again, the immersive nature of the battle scenes are such that I don’t think I’ve ever encountered anyone who can quite write a battle scene like him. I’m not quite sure what it is about them, but the combination of detailed terminology, witty dialogue, and fantastic strategies and tactics combine to form gripping sequences.

As for my main complaint with the first book: I found The Fell Sword to be considerably more self-contained than the first book, and I even think the end of the last book could have formed an interesting start to this one.

‘The Fell Sword’, by Miles Cameron, is the second in The Traitor Son Cycle.

Leave a Reply

