Book Review: ‘Elantris’, by Brandon Sanderson

elantris_coverI’d heard great things about this book as one of the best standalone novels around. It took me a while to get to Brandon Sanderson as an author, but I eventually started with The Mistborn Trilogy, and loved it. Starting Elantris, I wasn’t quite sure what to expect. I found the premise interesting, and thought it was written in a very similar voice to all of the Mistborn books. I can’t quite put my finger on it, but the style is quite light and easy-going. Unlike many other epic fantasy series, it doesn’t jump around too much in terms of PoV either, which represented a refreshing change, and significantly contributed to the simplicity of the book.

This is not to say that the book is simple, as there is a great deal of politicking throughout the book, something I’m finding myself increasingly drawn to in fantasy books. I do have a few criticisms however, though most are understandable given the fact that the book’s a standalone. There is a lot of world-building and set up in the beginning of the book. While I recognise its necessity, it does mean it takes a while to get going. The characters are interesting and varied, but there are a few similar names, which confused me – this might be down to the fact that I was listening to them rather than reading them though. As well as this, and considering it is a standalone, there are several questions left unanswered at the end. To me it felt like he was intentionally leaving the door open in case he wanted to revisit the story. The result, to me, felt like somewhat of a cop-out – that he couldn’t commit to finishing it as completely as he might have.

‘Elantris’, by Brandon Sanderson is a standalone.

Leave a Reply

