Book Review: ‘War at the Edge of the World,’ by Ian Ross

War at the EdgeWith War at the Edge of the World, I decided to take a break from my usual, continuous fantasy binge to read a bit of historical fiction. I tend to really enjoy Roman-based books, and found this to be a refreshing change, set as it was in the later stages of the empire rather than during the height of Republican power.

With an endorsement from Conn Iggulden on the cover, I had high expectations, and I was not disappointed. The plot progressed at a good speed and even if some of the twists were expected, it was good to see them borne out. I found myself liking the main character, Castus, without apparent effort, and enjoyed the complex of subplots swirling just below all the visceral action.

The combat was well done, with good armour consistencies (a rarity in fantasy as well as historical fiction), and I found it highly educational with regards to later Roman equipment – for example, I did not realise the legionaries used darts as well as javelins.

Overall, I’d recommend this book as a good, solid read – I’ve already bought the next in the series, but I’m reading a few more fantasy books before I get round to it.

‘War at the Edge of the World,’ by Ian Ross is the first in the Twilight of Empire series.

Leave a Reply

