Book Review: ‘Echoes of Betrayal’, by Elizabeth Moon

Having been busy with my studies, I took a break of almost nine months between the second in the series (Kings of the North) and Echoes of Betrayal, and so was nervous about picking up the story where I left it off.

As it turns out, I needn’t have worried. The characters are so familiar, and the style of writing so flowing that it was easy to get back into the series. It didn’t take long for me to remember why I like the series so much. It represents a move towards a more epic scope after the Deed of Paksenarrion, which is far smaller in scale, if no less epic. With a personal preference for epic fantasy over sword and sorcery, I’ve greatly enjoyed the change. I loved the Deed of Paksenarrion, and have been very glad to see that Moon’s style of writing has transferred seamlessly.

In terms of the plot, I have enjoyed the progression through the series and enjoyed the twists in this instalment, including the climax of the back. I did however find the ending perhaps a little jarring in its abruptness. Having read the fourth instalment, almost without pause, I wonder whether it might have been ended in a slightly different place?

‘Echoes of Betrayal’ by Elizabeth Moon is the third in the Paladin’s Legacy series.

Leave a Reply

