Book Review: ‘The Dusk Watchman’, by Tom Lloyd

I’ve always thought The Twilight Reign series has been one of the most underrated fantasy series around. I’m not sure I’ve talked to anyone else who has read it, let alone enjoyed it (although as far as I’m concerned, they are the same thing).

In the series in general, I massively enjoy the world created by Tom Lloyd, with the innovative take on elves, as well as the concept of white-eyes, and the expansive cast which includes everything from common soldiers to full-on gods. Alongside this, the system of magic is simple and effective. Many magic systems in modern fantasy books become over-ambitious and spiral out of control such that holes can easily be found, but I really enjoy the ease of comprehension of the system created by Lloyd.

As the conclusion to the series, there is a certain amount of hype for it in my mind. When one combines it with what has been a fantastic series, there is certainly a lot for it to live up to. Its predecessor, The Ragged Man, finishes with a near-apocalyptic battle scene to cap off a book which is one of my favourite fantasy books of all time (up alongside A Memory of Light, The Deadhouse Gates, A Storm of Swords and Prince of Thorns), and the way in which Lloyd continues the story, picking the cast back up after arguably one of the bloodiest battle scenes in fantasy literature is nothing short of amazing.

As well as this the conclusion of the book and therefore the series did not disappoint. It seems inevitable that when I read a series of books, I develop a sense of how it will all end, or at least how I would like to see it end. The last chapters of The Dusk Watchman were completely different to anything I expected, but they did not disappoint. This was a fantastic book, and I will continue to recommend the series to anyone I meet.

‘The Dusk Watchman’ by Tom Lloyd is the fifth in The Twilight Reign Series.

Leave a Reply

