Taking a Break

With the second year of my course, I fully immersed myself in university life, joining the Rugby League club and becoming far more active in the History Society, participating in far more social nights.

In terms of my writing, I again returned to historical fiction, writing essays on the Vietnam War, the Cold War, early Modern Russia, Charlemagne and the Crusades. This gave me an in-depth look at a wide range of cultures and time periods, something which sparked my imagination, particularly with regards to early Modern Russia and the Crusades.

Alongside these, I managed to read half of Bernard Cornwell’s The Warrior Chronicles, about Anglo-Saxon England, which were very entertaining, given the last time I read Bernard Cornwell was when I was much younger, reading The Grail Quest, and Warlord Chronicles series.

Leave a Reply

